Gaelic was the language of my ancestors and in fact my great-grandfather taught it to adults in evening classes but it was never passed down to me. It was not easy to find a course and there was only one tutor on Italki whose hours did not fit in with mine. I eventually decided to go for the distance learning course through Sabhal Mòr Ostaig, a college on the Isle of Skye, Scotland. I had all the self-study materials and then a one hour group call with the tutor once per week. I also registered for a 90 day language challenge to study Gaelic.

This was my first video at the start of the challenge:

After a few weeks of this style of learning, I desperately needed more speaking practice. However, I did not anticipate how difficult it would be to find Gaelic speakers to speak with on Skype. I posted messages on lots of sites but got no responses apart from other learners who were trying to find speaking partners too!

P1040062
The Gaelic speaking Isle of Harris, Scotland

I therefore went through almost the whole challenge with no speaking! In the final week, I got a kind offer from Thomas in the USA who speaks fluent Gaelic and he agreed to make my 90 day video with me. I also went to the Isles of Lewis and Harris for a weekend where I was able to go to Ravenspoint and speak Gaelic there as they run summer courses so they were very enthusiastic about it. I also visited a church in Gravir, Lewis to attend a Gaelic Psalms service. It’s a very traditional and unique way of singing and attracts many visitors. The locals made me feel very welcome and they all spoke to me in Gaelic.

Callanish Stones, Isle of Lewis. Photo by Maureen Millward.
Callanish Stones, Isle of Lewis. Photo taken by me.

My Day 90 video at the end of the challenge was difficult for me, as I had to speak for 15 minutes in Gaelic which I had not managed the whole way through the 90 days as I hadn’t actually practised speaking with anyone (not even a rehearsal!), but the main thing is I achieved it! Looking back at my video now, I can hear mistakes especially when using tha/a bheil expressions but I don’t do that anymore and I should be pleased I finished it after all.  A few weeks after the challenge ended, I received my Gaelic test results and I scored 83% for speaking and 90% for writing!

My final video also includes clips of my trip to the Isles of Lewis and Harris including the Gaelic Psalms church singing at the end.

All photos on this post were taken by me. Please be courteous and ask before you use them on your own site.

You can contact me on Twitter @LangJourneyMo or by using  the form below: 

 

