Learning Catalan in 90 Days

I recently finished my latest language challenge by doing the Add1Challenge . The idea is that you set yourself a goal of being able to hold a 15 minute conversation with a native speaker of your chosen language after 90 days.

I completed the same challenge before for Scottish Gaelic and Greek so I was used to how it works. You firstly apply for the challenge and agree on how much time you will study. In my case it was the minimum that they allowed which was 30 minutes of study on 5 days of the week. As I was busy with my job, I could not commit to more. However, I knew that Catalan would not be as difficult as Greek or Gaelic because it was similar to Spanish which I already knew.

Catalan had been a language on my wishlist for many years. With one of my previous jobs, I travelled to Catalonia quite a lot but always spoke in Spanish and never had the time to take up Catalan. Then after spending some time in Mallorca and Menorca, I started to become more interested.

I found 3 Catalan tutors on Italki.com  (Anna, Angela and Noelia) and I had on average 2 lessons per week throughout the challenge.

IMG_0458

The Algueres Mounument in Alghero.

I also had a trip to Sardinia for a week during the challenge where a dialect called Alguerés is a minority language and is a dialect of Catalan. I was able to practise some speaking there and buy some written materials. You can read about that trip here.

I started by studying grammar and the basics of Catalan using a Teach Yourself book. After a couple of weeks, I started trying to speak in Catalan by having Skype tuition on Italki. As all the Catalan tutors were also Spanish speakers, this was good for me because whenever I did not know a word in Catalan, I would ask them in Spanish and then get the translation. Apart from my Teach Yourself book, all my other resources were purely in Catalan and my Skype lessons were done only in Catalan and sometimes using Spanish if I couldn’t understand something. This was the first time I have used another foreign language (Spanish) to learn a new one so that was a new experience for me.

At the end of the challenge I was pleased with my progress and I made my 90 day video with a native speaker to show that I could speak in Catalan with her for 15 minutes. My final 90 day video is available to watch on YouTube here:

 

IMG_0455

I was able to practise Catalan in this shop

The Add1Challenge also has optional study groups so you can have Skype sessions with people studying the same language as you and a great community for motivation and encouragement based on Facebook and on their on website. There is also one prize for one challenger at the end to win a flight to the country of their chosen language!

My new plans are to continue with Catalan because it has become one of my favourite languages and I have just registered for a new 90 day challenge for Mandarin Chinese! Future challenges I have planned are Irish which I expect to be similar to Scottish Gaelic, Icelandic and perhaps Dutch, Romanian or Croatian! Or maybe I will need another language for work or travelling.  Certainly the most immediate ones will be Irish and Icelandic because I have trip to Iceland and the Gaeltacht in Ireland during 2016.

If you have any questions about the language challenges , please feel free by leaving a comment or clicking on the ‘Contact Me’ button at the top of the page.

About maureen100

Polyglot, Languages Enthusiast, P/T Accountant, loves travel and cats. Contact on twitter @LangJourneyMo and Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Language-Learning-Journey-917184265040686/?ref=hl
This entry was posted in Catalan, Language Challenges, Languages. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Learning Catalan in 90 Days

  1. Alex Gentry says:

    That’s wonderful! I have a Catalan dictionary that’s in Spanish though I haven’t yet attempted to learn the language myself! I’m on my third Romance language right now (French) after learning Portuguese and Spanish in the past, so Catalan will be pretty easy for me too when I learn it. I didn’t realize there were Catalan speakers in Sardinia! That gives me extra incentive to learn it. It was so interesting to look in the dictionary. It looked like a mix of French, Italian, and Spanish but then again it had its own distinct flavor.

  2. stanzzii says:

    This is really cool! Catalan is a language that’s been growing on me– I wasn’t interested in it before, but I’ve seen it written down a number of times now and my curiosity is peaked 🙂 The Add1Challenge seems like a great way to get a headstart at a language– I wished it were priced lower, though!

  3. Frank says:

    It’s really interesting that there are still Catalan speakers living on Sardinia. Good luck with your future plans.

Leave a Comment

