Language Plans & Events for this year

As it’s January, I have been setting my targets and planning my language learning and travels for the year.

Language Studies

img_5995

At my Gaelic college in the Isle of Skye

Now to April – I am working on Egyptian Arabic as a 90 day challenge with an aim to being able to have a 15 minute conversation on video at the end. I have a very good tutor called Sumayyah who I found on the Verbling website.

Feb to June – I have registered for a Scottish Gaelic course again with the college Sabhal Mòr Ostaig in the Isle of Skye. This means the next four months will be tough.

img_7183

I was on TV at LangFest in Montreal last year

End of March to end of June  – Special 90 Day Project  – I have found a Skype tutor to teach me Napolitano (Neapolitan dialect). I have decided to do this to improve my knowledge before my presentation about minority languages in Italy at LangFest in Montreal in August.

July to Sept  – For the summer, I will do a new 90 day language challenge but I couldn’t decide whether to do Russian or Croatian. Obviously Russian has more speakers, resources and tutors. However, I am going on a trip to Croatia in September and I really don’t want to go without being able to speak some of the language. It’s also easier than Russian I believe. There are enough tutors on Italki and so after a lot of consideration I think I will go for Croatian this summer. Russian will follow because I hope to go there next year.

I still maintain my better languages through Skype conversations without needing to do much studying (Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Catalan, French and Sicilian). I am also continuing with Chinese and German lessons on skype because I have been studying those languages for over a year now.

Language Related Travel Plans

April – I will be attending a weekend course for Cornish in Cornwall, England. Cornish is a Celtic language that was revived in the last century after it became extinct in the early 1800s (dates disputed!). Cornwall is a beautiful part of the country and I will be hiring a car for a couple of days and travelling around the region. I plan to visit the church where the last Cornish service was held in 1678. If you are interested in learning Cornish by distance (the price is very cheap!) you can find out more by clicking here.

May  – I will be attending the Polyglot Gathering in Bratislava, Slovakia.

alghero-black-and-white

Alghero, Sardinia

June  – I will be going to Alghero, Sardinia where they speak both Italian and Alguerés (a variant of Catalan). Last time I was there, I was able to practise both languages.

August  – I will be at LangFest in Montreal where I will give a presentation about the minority languages in Italy as well as a short lesson in Sicilian.

September – I will be visiting Croatia and Montenegro which is why I want to learn some Croatian before my trip.

October  – I will be attending the Polyglot Conference in Reykjavik, Iceland. I hope I can see the Northern Lights again like I did on my last trip to Iceland.

us-northern-lights

About maureen100

Polyglot, Languages Enthusiast, P/T Accountant, loves travel and cats. Contact on twitter @LangJourneyMo and Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Language-Learning-Journey-917184265040686/?ref=hl
This entry was posted in Languages. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Language Plans & Events for this year

  1. marieryan says:

    Hi Maureen! What an exciting post.

    Minority languages are fascinating.

    I learned the Basque language, from the Basque country ( north-east Spain/south-west France) while I was there for 8 years but that was a while ago now…

    I wrote my thesis about Franco’s persecution of the language and its teachers during his Dictatorship. A horrible affair.
    Due to the prohibition, the language had become largely undercover , but still survived to a certain degree, especially with the older generations.
    Your article brought me back some memories!

    Congratulations on a wonderful mission and fantastic linguistic plan for the year.
    Regards. Marie.

  2. flootzavut says:

    Russian versus Croatian: Russian is easier in some respects, Croatian in others. The overall tense system of Croatian is more complex, but the more unusual tenses are used much less. (I have a feeling verbs of motion might be a little easier in Croatian, but I am uncertain.) Overall, the difficulty for verbs in Slavic languages are not, IMO, particularly easier or more difficult than, say, Romance languages, they’re just difficult in different ways.

    Russian is fairly phonetic but has some niggly details where you need to learn that in X case it’s not exactly phonetic. Usually very predictable, but can be tougher. Standard Croatian otoh is written in a Latin alphabet and is very phonetic, which is nice. (I also think Croatian is just a very pretty language. I hope to resurrect mine at some point.)

    Swings and roundabouts. The best thing, though, is that a good grounding in one Slavic language is enormously good prep for the next. If you can get a really good grip on Croatian, then Russian (or whatever Slavic language you try next) will have an awful lot that’s familiar and comfortable.

    (I studied Russian to honours degree level and did a year of Croatian in the last year of my degree, and I’ve dabbled in other Slavic languages since.)

    … I realise you didn’t ask for this info, just thought you might be interested 😁 Yes, I am indeed a Slavic language nerd 🤓

    I remain impressed at how many Romance languages you can maintain in your head. I can just about deal with French 😳 LOL

    Good luck with it all!

    • maureen100 says:

      Thanks for your input. I have been asking this question to various people for a while so I can make a decision on which one to learn first. I think the fact I’m going to Croatia gives me more motivation to learn that first but I have always wanted to learn Russian too. I wish I had the time to do all the languages I want to. Hopefully in the future when I can reduce my working hours in my current job I can then take on more languages. I am also not sure yet how much Croatian I intend to learn. Certainly enough for my trip but beyond that I am undecided as yet. It all comes down to time again!

Leave a Comment

