First Communion Weekend (written in Napoletano/English)

As part of my summer project to learn some Napoletano, I decided to write a short blog post about a recent family event in both Napoletano and English.

Napoletano:

‘A semmana passata, sò ghiuta a Scozia pe ‘a primma cummunione ‘e nepotema. E’ stato n’evento speciale pecche a bona parte d’a famiglia abbita luntàno da essa e accussì non stamme ‘nzième spisso.  IMG_4564

Sò arrivata ‘a notte primma e mi sò rimmasta ‘nt’all’albergo. ‘O juorno aroppo simme juti a chiesa pe ‘a ceremmònia. ‘A ceremmònia ha accumminciato a ll’undici. Aroppo ‘a ceremmònia, tutta ‘a famiglia è ghiuta ‘o ristorante e avimme mangiato ‘o pranzo ‘nzième.

Nepotema tene na passione p’e lengue straniere e aggio avuto parlà cu essa in spagnolo e cinese.

E’ stato ‘n juorno speciale pe ‘a famiglia nuostra e nepotema era assaje bella cu suja vesta jànca longa.

 

English:

Last week, I went to Scotland for my niece’s first communion. It was a special event because the majority of the family live far away from her and therefore we are not together often. IMG_4524

I arrived the night before and I stayed in the hotel. The day after we went to the church for the ceremony. The ceremony began at 11 o’clock. After the ceremony, all the family went to the restaurant and we ate lunch together.

My niece has a passion for foreign languages and I had to speak to her in Spanish and Chinese.

It was a special day for our family and my niece was very beautiful in her long white dress.

About maureen100

Polyglot, Languages Enthusiast, loves travel and cats. Contact on twitter @LangJourneyMo and Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Language-Learning-Journey-917184265040686/?ref=hl
This entry was posted in Languages. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First Communion Weekend (written in Napoletano/English)

  1. Rafter's Languages says:

    Hello everybody! My name is Raffaele Terracciano, I’m a Neapolitan and a polyglot blogger/youtuber. You can find more about me and see my multilingual introduction here: http://www.rafterslanguages.com/about-me/

    It means so much to me as a Neapolitan to see so many people interested in my native language. I explain the current status of Neapolitan here: http://www.rafterslanguages.com/my-neapolitan/

    As regards the resources, there’s no major course for Neapolitan language available to the international public. But Maureen has already shared a list of links, and I have to admit that she has already included all the best free resources for English speakers that you can find around the web. Great job Maureen! 🙂

    I especially recommend the page on wikibooks https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Neapolitan because it covers all most important grammar points and even verb conjugations!

    I just want to add that there is now also a nice introductory course to Neapolitan on Memrise, at this link: https://www.memrise.com/course/91284/basic-neapolitan-nnapulitano/
    It’s just a basic introduction to the 200 most popular words of the language, but it’s easy to complete and convenient, since you can go over it on your PC or smartphone.

    Also, you might want to have a look at this link: http://tipsypilgrim.com/blog/learn-neapolitan-slang-conversation-southern-italy.html
    It’s a collection of most popular Neapolitan phrases: it’s fun and interesting learning material, complete with audio pronunciations!

    Last but not least, most people I know have sooner or later integrated learning Neapolitan with learning about the culture, and there is no better way to do BOTH than by listening to the amazing collection of Neapolitan songs: at the following link on Spotify you will find 70 of the best traditional songs, sung by Massimo Ranieri https://open.spotify.com/user/11141398187/playlist/3Mm6iEpZp0qC6G9ehVrdaj
    You can google the lyrics of these songs, even though most of the times they will not offer an English translation.

    The last great Neapolitan artist was Pino Daniele: all songs until 1991 are in Neapolitan only. He wrote Napul’è, basically the signature song of the city. In the streets of Naples, everybody still listens to his early songs. https://open.spotify.com/artist/2eFv7NVs8R6Go7msuqikeg

    If you have any questions or doubts, feel free to ask; or why not, if you are looking for a tutor, you can get in touch with me via my own blog.

    Thanks Maureen for learning my language and for the opportunity to talk about it!

    Stateve bbuono! 🙂

    Raffaele

  2. Nichole says:

    Hi, where did you find resources to learn Neapolitan? I have found Lessons for sicilian but all I can find for Neapolitan are a few phrases and not so great pronunciation guides.

  3. Tom says:

    How did you find resources to learn Napoletano? I want to learn my mother’s language of Calabrese but can’t seem to find any resources for it.

  4. Rémi B. says:

    Very good idea to write in two languages. Good job 🙂

Leave a Comment

